The Language of Symbol in the Poetry of Dylan Thomas

imagesBeing Welsh and Irish, poetry and song form a part of my essence.  For me, no one presents his own symbolic language as does Dylan Thomas.  It is the melodious imagery of the Welsh people but crafted in a new light through Thomas’ art. 

Here is  Thomas reading Fern Hill followed by Eli Jenkins’ Prayer from Under Milk Wood.

Having been to his home in Swansea, and his boat house and grave at Laugharne

I would like to share the following essay by Peter Morrell  with you.  What follows is Thomas reading “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night.”

About Monsignor Mark Richard Lane

I am a Catholic Priest of the Diocese of Richmond. I am also a presenter in the Theology and Symbolism in Art from the art of the catacombs to modern art. My current research is on the duplicity of art in 19th Century America.
This entry was posted in Dylan Thomas, Welsh Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.